top of page

SINGLE POST

The Bathroom Timeout

I have decided to recruit some help in keeping up with my blog. I want to normalize the struggles that so many of us have day to day. Therapy often becomes a safe place for someone to share their innermost thoughts and feelings. In my office the joys and more often the challenges of being a parent are very common. In my office mothers and fathers use the space to express their inner most frustrations and fears about parenting. The next few posts are meant to help others see that negative thoughts about parenting and marriage are very common.

Here are some thoughts from "The Mommy Potty Club": Sometimes I lie. Sometimes I tell my kids, "I gotta poop." I go into the bathroom, shut the door and pretend I am pooping. What I am really doing is sitting on the edge of the tub, reading memes about stressed out moms, and giggling with delight because I've done them all. It makes me feel like I am in some special club. I shut my eyes and imagine me and 100 other moms sitting in our bathrooms with their doors locked doing the same thing. Ohhhhh the "Mommy Potty Club".


bottom of page